Opening hours and entrance fees

Church of St. Nicholas

Already around 1100 there was a predecessor of today's church, but little is known about it. In 1452 the construction of the present late Gothic hall church was started, but for the benefit of the church St. Peter and Paul building it was abandoned for many years. Finally, the famous architect Wendel Roskopf took over the church and completed it. It was consecrated in 1520. It is Wendel Roskopf's last late Gothic building in Görlitz, before he finally turns to the Renaissance with the Schönhof (today "Schlesisches Museum").

Mobirise

In 1642 the Church of St. Nicholas has been destroyed in the 30 year war. In 1649 the church was rebuilt and destroyed again in the fire of 1717. In the subsequent five-year construction phase, the view of the vault was replaced by a flat ceiling with perspective architectural representations. This ceiling was removed as part of a new redesign. In 1925/26 Prof. Martin Elsaesser turned the interior into a memorial for the fallen of the First World War in the expressionist style. A part of this design fell victim to necessary restoration measures.

Mobirise

Those who come to the Church of St. Nicholas and its churchyard will find a place of contemplation, peace and tranquillity. Since the early 16th century the Church of St. Nicholas has not been a parish church. The stately St. Peter and Paul Church was a place of worship. Thus the Nikolaikirche was then above all burial church. The churchyard around it is one of the most beautiful cemeteries in Germany.

Created with Mobirise ‌

Free HTML5 Page Creator

Öffnungszeiten und Eintrittspreise

Nikolaikirche

Bereits um 1100 gab es einen Vorgängerbau der heutigen Kirche, doch ist von diesem wenig bekannt. 1452 wird der Bau der jetzigen spätgotischen Hallenkirche begonnen, zugunsten des Peterskirchenbaues aber über viele Jahre ruhen gelassen. Schließlich nimmt sich der berühmte Baumeister Wendel Roskopf der Kirche an und vollendet sie. Sie wird 1520 geweiht. Es ist W. Roskopfs letzter spätgotischer Bau in Görlitz, bevor er sich mit dem Schönhof (heute Schlesisches Museum) endgültig der Renaissance zuwendet. 

Mobirise

1642 wird die Nikolaikirche im 30jährigen Krieg zerstört. 1649 folgte ein Wiederaufbau, eine erneute Zerstörung mit dem Stadtbrand 1717. In der anschließenden fünfjährigen Bauphase ersetzte man die Sicht auf das Gewölbe durch eine Flachdecke mit perspektivischen Architekturdarstellungen. Diese Decke wurde im Rahmen einer neuerlichen Umgestaltung entfernt. Das Innere wurde dabei von Prof. M. Elsaesser 1925/26 zur Gedenkstätte für die Gefallenen des 1. Weltkriegs im expressionistischen Stil ausgebaut. Ein Teil dieser Ausgestaltung fiel notwendigen Sanierungsmaßnahmen zum Opfer. 

Mobirise

Wer zur Nikolaikirche und dem zu ihr gehörenden Kirchhof kommt, dem eröffnet sich ein Ort der Besinnung, der Ruhe, des Friedens. Schon seit dem frühen 16. Jahrhundert ist die Nikolaikirche keine Gemeindekirche mehr. Die stattliche Peterskirche zog das gottesdienstlich Leben an sich. So war dann die Nikolaikirche vor allem Begräbniskirche. Der Gottesacker um sie herum gehört zu den schönsten Friedhöfen Deutschlands.

Made with Mobirise ‌

Free Web Site Maker